– Plenary Speakers –

– Opening Speaker

Jordi Vila

Jordi Vila is the Head of the Department of Clinical Microbiology of the Hospital Clinic, Professor of the School of Medicine, University of Barcelona, and Research Professor in the Institute for Global Health (ISGlobal), Barcelona Spain. His research is focused on the molecular basis of antimicrobial resistance as well as development of new drugs against MDR bacteria and molecular tools for rapid diagnosis. He was the Programme Director of the Congress of ESCMID from 2009 to 2014 and he is currently the president of the Spanish Society of Infectious Diseases and Clinical Microbiology (SEIMC). He has published more than 400 articles and two patents.

– Plenary Speakers

Robin Patel

Robin Patel is the director of the Infectious Diseases Research Laboratory, chair of the Division of Clinical Microbiology  and Professor of Medicine and Microbiology in Mayo Clinic, Minnesota (USA). Her research is focused on bacterial biofilms, antimicrobial resistance and clinical bacteriology diagnostic testing. She is currently the President of the American Society of Microbiology (ASM). She has published over 350 peer reviewed manuscripts and has delivered numerous national and international presentations. She is an associate editor for the Journal of Clinical Microbiology and Clinical Infectious Diseases. 

Patrice Nordmann

Patrice Nordmann is currently Head of the Molecular Microbology Unit, Dept Medicine, University of Fribourg (Switzerland). He is co-author of more than 600 peer-reviewed publications mostly on biochemistry, genetics and epidemiology of emerging antibiotic resistance in Gram negatives. He has taken several patents in Diagnostic Microbiology. He has been the recipient of several awards including the Medaille Louis Pasteur from the French National Academy of Sciences, Paris 2012 and the Excellence Microbiology and Infectious Diseases award from the European Society for Microbiology and Infectious Diseases, Berlin, 2013.

Jesús Rodríguez-Baño

Jesús Rodríguez-Baño is professor of Medicine of the University of Sevilla and Head of Infectious Diseases Division in Hospital Universitario Virgen Macarena, Sevilla (Spain). Chair of the Spanish Network for Research in Infectious Diseases (REIPI) and President of the European Society of Clinical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases (ESCMID). His research is focused on antimicrobial resistance (clinical epidemiology, control and treatment) and healthcare-associated infections. He is an associate editor for Clinical Microbiology and Infection and he is co-author of more than 300 peer-reviewed articles.

Maiken Cavling Arendrup

Maiken Arendrup is clinical mycologist at Rigshospitalet, Head of the Mycology Unit at Statens Serum Institut and professor of Clinical Medicine in the University of Copenhagen, Denmark. She founded the Nordic Society of Medical Mycology (NSMM). She is chair of the EUCAST Antifungal Susceptibility Testing Subcommittee and head of the EUCAST Development Laboratory for fungi. Her main research interests include the epidemiology, susceptibility, breakpoint development, diagnostics and treatment of fungal infections. She has authored around 220 publications in international journals.

Gian Maria Rossolini

Gian Maria Rossolini is Professor of the Department of Experimental and Clinical Medicine in the University of Florence and Director of the Clinical Microbiology Unit of the Florence Careggi University Hospital, Italy. His research is focused on antimicrobial agents, bacterial chemistry resistance, molecular epidemiology and bacterial resistance monitoring, microbiological diagnostics, microbial biotechnologies. Author of over 450 published scientific publications has developed eleven patents.

Amalio Telenti

Amalio Telenti is chief of data science at Vir Biotechnology in San Francisco (USA), and professor in the department of integrative structural and computational biology of the Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla (USA). His research is focused on integration of genomic and other data modalities, in particular metabolome and microbiome, in the development of public resources and in the implementation of new machine and deep learning tools for genomics. He is member of the Scientific Advisory Boards of Caris Life Science (USA), nFerence (USA) and Bitmark (Taiwan), of the Center for Integrative Genomics (University of Lausanne), of the Institute Pasteur–Chinese Academy of Sciences (China) and of the Swiss Personalized Health Network. His work has received over 50.000 citations.

Bert Niesters

Bert Niesters is professor and director of the Laboratory of Clinical Virology within the Department of Medical Microbiology at the University Medical Centre Groningen, Netherlands. He is actively involved in the implementation and development of new technologies and automation within clinical virology. His research is also focused on molecular diagnostics and its use in a transplant setting as well in monitoring treatment of hepatitis viruses. He is an executive member of the Dutch Society of Medical Microbiology and Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Clinical Virology. He is co-author of more than 275 peer reviewed papers and reviews.

Martí Vall-Mayans

Martí Vall-Mayans is a consultant physician in sexually transmitted infections (STI) and scientist at the STI and skin Neglected Tropical Diseases Unit at the Fight AIDS and Infectious Diseases Foundation, Hospital Germans Trial Pujol in Badalona, Spain. His clinical and research interests include bacterial STIs and neglected skin diseases. He is member of the European STI Guidelines Project Editorial Board of IUSTI and scientific  chair of the European STI congress 2020 in Bucharest.


Important Dates


We regret to announce that AIMID 2020 has been cancelled due to COVID-19 pandemic and moved to September 23th and 24th, 2021.

We will try to keep the speaker program and enhance it with new topics and speakers. We thank  your comprehension and hope to see you in 2021 in Oviedo .

Share This